Text size

Line spacing


Placeholder Placeholder
Background image
For visually impaired

Tartu stands as a candidate for European Capital of Culture

Tartu City Government

Tartu stands as a candidate for European Capital of Culture Foto: Heikki Leis

30 November / On 29 November, the Ministry of Culture, in cooperation with the Association of Estonian Cities, announced a competition for Estonian cities, in order to find the 2024 European Capital of Culture.

So far, Tartu is the only city in Estonia to have announced its plan to stand as a candidate.

According to Tartu Mayor Urmas Klaas, Tartu is ready to stand as a candidate. ‘We have already made serious preparations. We are currently in the process of developing Tartu’s Cultural Strategy until 2030, and have held a number of discussions with various parties from different fields on the topic of Capital of Culture. In September, the Tartu City Council also unanimously adopted the decision regarding Tartu's candidacy. I also invite other Estonian cities to follow the example set by Tartu and take part in Europe’s largest cultural project’, added the Mayor.

The preliminary selection, from among all of the Estonian cities wishing to serve as the Capital of Culture, will be made in October 2018, and the final decision will be made the following year, in the fall of 2019. Selections will be made by an independent expert committee, to which Estonia can name up to two representatives. In 2024 the title of European Capital of Culture will be held by a total of three cities: one in Austria; one in a European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Member State, EU candidate country or potential candidate country; and one in Estonia.

Tartu has previously stood as a candidate for European Capital of Culture. In 2011, Tartu, Pärnu and Tallinn stood as candidates, with Tallinn being awarded the honour of European Capital of Culture.

Additional information: Mayor Urmas Klaas, Tel: 736 1221, 513 5145, Department of Culture, Culture Service Chief Specialist Erni Kask, Tel: 736 1358.

Last changed 01.12.2017