Text size

Line spacing


Placeholder Placeholder
Background image
For visually impaired

Department of Culture

Information about the City Council and the City Government
Raekoda, 51003 Tartu
+372 1789

Department of Culture

This department is tasked with the coordination of culture, sports and youth work activities. Three services operate within the department, which has nine further subordinate units – these being hobby schools, museums, libraries, youth centres and the folk culture centre.


The Culture Service coordinates the city’s cultural activities and directs the development thereof. It is also responsible for financing cultural projects and organising recreational activities; advising organisers and recognising the best of the best during the year of culture.


The Youth Work Service coordinates the city’s youth work and plans its development: it handles grants for youth work, initiates projects pertaining to particular fields, promotes cooperation networks and advises organisers of youth work and Tartu Youth Council. It is also responsible for awarding annual honorary titles in the field of youth work in Tartu.


The Sports Service plans and coordinates the city’s sports life, processes sports-related grants and scholarships, initiates sports projects, gives advice on sports activities, recognises leading performers in sport and organises the awards ceremony at the end of the sports year.



Raekoja plats 12, 51004 Tartu

+372 736 1360


Contact details of employees of Department of Culture (in Estonian)

Last changed 14.12.2020