Text size

Line spacing


Placeholder Placeholder
Background image
For visually impaired

City Council

Information about the City Council and the City Government
Raekoda, 51003 Tartu
+372 1789


Tartu City Council

The City Council of Tartu, with its 49 members, is the representative body of the municipal government that is elected by the electorate of the City of Tartu in every four years.

Based on the results of the elections of 17 October 2021 the City Council is formed of representatives of six political parties. The biggest faction in Tartu City Council is that of the Estonian Reform Party (19 members), followed by the Estonian Conservative People’s Party (8 members), the Estonia 200 Party (8 members), the Estonian Social Democratic Party (5 members), the Isamaa Party (5 members) and the Estonian Centre Party (4 members). The Reform Party, the Estonian Social Democratic Party and the Isamaa Party have formed a coalition.

The work of the City Council is organised by Chairman Kaspar Kokk (Isamaa Party). In his absence, duties are performed by Vice-chairman Reno Laidre (Estonian Reform Party). The Chairman and Vice-chairman, along with the leaders of the factions, form the Board of the City Council, which discusses issues connected with the organisation of the work of the City Council.

The exclusive competence of the City Council includes important decisions such as the adoption and amendment of the city budget and the taking of loans; establishing procedures for granting benefits from the city budget and for the administration and use of city assets; adoption of the city development plan and comprehensive and detailed plans.

The City Council of Tartu has eight standing committees, each with different scopes of activity. They function as advisory bodies to the City Council. Committees review draft legislative acts, present proposals regarding them and initiate discussions.

Meetings of the City Council take place at least once a month. Meetings are broadcast live.

Tartu City Council
Raekoja plats 1a (Tartu City Hall)
51003 Tartu
E-mail: volikogu@tartu.ee


City Council meeting

Last changed 20.09.2022

Factions of the City Council

Estonian Reform Party


1. Laura Danilas
2. Ene Ergma
3. Hele Everaus
4. Tamara Hristoforova
5. Veljo Ipits
6. Helmer Jõgi
7. Triin Anette Kaasik
8. Toomas Kapp
9. Krõõt Kiviste
10. Reno Laidre
12. Verni Loodmaa
13. Senta-Ellinor Michelson
14. Martin Ottas
15. Mari Roostik
16. Jüri Sasi
17. Kristo Seli
18. Margit Sutrop
19. Armen Šahbazjan

Chairman of the Faction
Krõõt Kiviste
Phone: +372 509 0030
E-mail: kroot.kiviste@tartulvk.ee

Advisors of the Faction
Olev Kork
Phone: +372 5812 7521
E-mail: olev.kork@gmail.com

Eliise Kuus
Phone: +372 5559 4498
E-mail: eliise.kuus@gmail.com

Estonian Social Democratic Party

1. Karl Aaron Adson
2. Mart Hiob
3. Kadri Leetmaa
4. Eveliis Padar
5. Heljo Pikhof

Chairman of the Faction
Kadri Leetmaa
Phone: +372 5569 4019
E-mail: kadri.leetmaa@tartulvk.ee

Advisor of the Faction
Kertu Valge
Phone: +372 5686 9003
E-mail: kertu.valge@sotsid.ee


Isamaa Party

1. Merle Jääger
2. Lembit Kalev
3. Kaspar Kokk
4. Mihhail Lotman
5. Allan Unt

Chairman of the Faction:
Kaspar Kokk
E-mail: kaspar.kokk@tartulvk.ee

Advisor of the Faction
Gerda Zeigo
Phone: +372 525 4529
E-mail: gerda.zeigo@isamaa.ee

Estonian Conservative People’s Party

1. Indrek Kalda
2. Merle Kivest
3. Silver Kuusik
4. Merike Lumi
5. Loone Ots
6. Malle Pärn
7. Jaak Valge
8. Imre Vähi

Chairman of the Faction
Silver Kuusik
Phone: +372 524 8456
E-mail: silver.kuusik@tartulvk.ee

Advisor of the Faction
Ülo Naaber
E-mail: ylonaaber@gmail.com

Estonia 200 Party

1. Kristina Kallas
2. Anneli Kannus
3. Mart Kivastik
4. Jaak Laineste
5. Pärtel Piirimäe
6. Tanel Tein
7. Pille Tsopp-Pagan
8. Kristiina Tõnnisson

Chairman of the Faction
Kristina Kallas
E-mail: kristina.kallas@tartulvk.ee

Advisors of the Faction
Taavi Vaikjärv
Phone: +372 5194 6373
E-mail: taavi.vaikjarv@eesti200.ee

Olaf Reedi
Phone: +372 522 9480
E-mail: reediolaf@gmail.com

Estonian Centre Party

1. Nikolai Põdramägi
2. Artjom Suvorov
3. Jaan Toots

Jaan Toots
Phone: +372 510 8555
E-mail: toots.jaan@gmail.com

Vladimir Šokman
Phone: +372 504 9624
E-mail: vladimir.sokman@gmail.com

Last changed 20.09.2022

Committees of the City Council

Committee of Finances

Scope of Activity: finances, city budget, governing, using and controlling municipal property, etc.

Chairman of the Committee
Toomas Kapp
Phone: +372 504 3415
E-mail: toomas.kapp@tartulvk.ee

Toomas Kapp
Toomas Kapp

Committee of Urban Planning and Development

Scope of Activity: urban planning, land survey and use, development plans, construction and architecture, etc.

Chairman of the Committee
Veljo Ipits
Phone: +372 516 5225
E-mail: veljo.ipits@tartulvk.ee

Veljo Ipits
Veljo Ipits

Committee of Economic Affairs

Scope of Activity: regulation of traffic, public transport, city cleaning, road-building, waterworks, waste management, tourism infrastructure, entrepreneurship etc.

Chairman of the Committee
Verni Loodmaa
Phone: +372 503 4722
E-mail: verni.loodmaa@tartulvk.ee

Verni Loodmaa
Verni Loodmaa

Committee of Education

Scope of Activity: education, youth and children, etc.

Chairman of the Committee
Lembit Kalev
Phone: +372 503 3388
E-mail: lembit.kalev@tartulvk.ee

Lembit Kalev
Lembit Kalev

Committee of Culture

Scope of Activity: culture, sports, symbols, monuments and toponyms of the city, etc.

Chairman of the Committee
Kristo Seli
E-mail: kristo.seli@tartulvk.ee

Kristo Seli
Kristo Seli

Committee of Environment

Scope of Activity: environmental protection, urban landscaping, assessment of environmental impact, etc.

Chairman of the Committee
Mart Hiob
Phone: +372 501 4767
E-mail: mart.hiob@tartulvk.ee

Mart Hiob
Mart Hiob

Committee of Internal Audit

Scope of Activity: auditing the activities of the City Government, its efficiency and compliance with laws and regulations, controlling the reliability of accountancy and financial reporting, etc.

Chairman of the Committee
Silver Kuusik
Phone: +372 524 8456
E-mail: silver.kuusik@tartulvk.ee

Silver Kuusik
Silver Kuusik

Committee of Social Care

Scope of Activity: social insurance and welfare, child protection, health care, employment, etc.

Chairman of the Committee
Heljo Pikhof
Phone: +372 511 9637
E-mail: heljo.pikhof@tartulvk.ee

Heljo Pikhof
Heljo Pikhof

Last changed 01.12.2021